Skip to content

NPR and Me

10/16/2011

Several weeks ago, I got an email out of the blue from Alison Richards, who works on science stories for NPR and writes and oversees National Public Radio’s food blog,  The Salt. It seems she comes from England and wanted to write about the differences between cooking terms in England and in the U.S.A.  As I had “Americanized” a number of British cookbooks, she asked for my help.

The books and the radio station

How did she get my name? I haven’t a clue. But never mind. NPR was calling. N-P-R! As in my go-to source for just about everything. Yes. It’s true. I am one of those people who listens to radio. All day long.

Sure, I watch television but rarely television news. I read the New York Times. And of course, I am on the computer all day. (Truth be told, I stream NPR through the computer in my office. Right now I am listening to William Shatner talk to host Rebecca Roberts.)

At first I asked Alison if we could talk on the phone. She agreed but we never seemed to find the time. She got caught up in the cantaloupe-listeria thing and so after a few stymied tries, I sat down to write something she could use. Luckily I had kept a lot of notes from my work on books by Jamie Oliver, Nigella Lawson, and Simon Hopkinson, and so I was able to put together a fairly detailed recounting of some of the more outlandish and unexpected challenges.

I asked Will Schwalbe to read the memo before I sent it to Alison. Will was the editor-in-chief for Hyperion who hired me to work on the books. Currently, Will is the founder of  Cookstr  (I do some work for Cookstr, too). He made a few constructive changes and that was that.

I sent my words off to NPR.

A few days later and the piece was live. So cool!  

My daughter Laura has turned into an NPR-head, too, which is no surprise since it was a constant in her childhood. Every radio in the house and car was and is pre-set to it (in our house we listen to WNYC, New York’s public radio station). She grew up listening to Morning Edition with her morning Cheerios, and believed I was incapable of cooking dinner without All Things Considered. When I told her about Alison’s first email, she was fired up. 

When the NPR blog went live, Laura suggested I write this blog. And so here it is.

Thank you NPR! (And thank you Laura.)

copyright © Mary Goodbody

One Comment leave one →
  1. LWG permalink
    10/17/2011 12:37 am

    I ❤ Robert Siegel.

Leave a Reply

