Skip to content

A Very Good Stew

02/06/2011

ready to serve!

I understand completely that the name of the dish I am about to talk about is daube — but I am calling it “stew” simply because I like the way it sounds in the title of this short entry. The stew (or daube) is from Dorie Greenspan’s newest book, Around My French Table, and while I didn’t prepare it, I ate it with great appreciation. (Of course, I was not surprised by how good this was. Dorie is one of my favorite cookbook writers and my friend, Judy, who cooked it, is an excellent cook.)

Judy, who lives a few blocks away, had a houseful of guests and, as I know them all very well and even put up the overflow at my own house, I was there for dinner on a cold January Saturday.  Judy made the daube and served it with a simple salad and some bread from a really good French bakery we’re lucky to have in town. Perfect! The meat was tender, full flavored from the wine it was cooked in. There were carrots and parsnips, onions and shallots but the star of the pot was the beef, hands down.

it's a meal

Did I go back for seconds? Wouldn’t you have?

copyright ©Mary Goodbody

One Comment leave one →
  1. LWG permalink
    03/24/2011 2:40 pm

    That was literally the best stew I’ve ever had in my entire life.

Leave a Reply

